Why is brick so popular in London?

Undoubtedlyhazy
1 min readJan 13, 2023

--

No truer words have been said. On my first trip to England, I was impressed by the country. Its countrysides were lovely, the towns were even prettier, and all the street signs were in English! Such a relief after living abroad for so long. By the time I got to London, I couldn’t help but wonder why brick is so popular there. Nearly every building, old and new, was fashioned in red brick.

It wasn’t my first encounter with red brick. But seeing it in such quantities and lined throughout this famous city did something to me. I’d imagine it did the same to others too. And with good reason. It’s aesthetically pleasing. However, I understand there’s more to it than just beauty. Sometimes in architecture and design, form follows function, and vice versa, but also follows history and culture.

That’s certainly the case with the popularity of red brick in London. The reason branches into different fields that may seem distant and unconnected to one another, when in fact, they are. If you’re intrigued and want to know why brick is a preferred choice in the architecture of London, stay with me.

Read the rest of the article here.

--

--

Undoubtedlyhazy

Creating harmony between the two things I enjoy most: architecture & travel.